Kobzar Literary Award
About the Award The Foundation Submissions Shortlisted Books & Publishers Past Winners Ordering Books Judging Panels Writers' Scholarships Contact Us
  KOBZAR™ The Kobzar Literary Award - Shevchenko Foundation

Honorary Patrons

The Right Honourable
Adrienne Clarkson
The Honourable Senator
Raynell Andreychuk
Joy Kogawa
Nino Ricci

Advisors during Phase One:

Nik Burton
Coteau Books

Kitty Lewis
Brick Books

Jack Rabinovitch
Scotia Giller Prize

Antanas Sileika
Humber College School for Writers

Geoffrey Taylor
Harbourfront International Authors Festival

Nora Taylor
Charles Taylor Prize for Non Fiction
    Judging Panels

Karen Connelly, author, poet, instructor
Tamas Dobozy
, author, professor
Shandi Mitchell, author, filmmaker

Joe Kertes, author, teacher, Dean of Creative and Performing Arts at Humber College
Frances Itani, C.M., author, poet, reviewer
Annabel Lyon, author, instructor
Olive Senior, author, poet, instructor

Denise Chong, Ph.D. (hon), author, researcher
Nino Ricci, O.C., author, educator
Randall Maggs, Ph.D. poet, educator
MG Vassanji, O.C., author, researcher

Sandra Birdsell, author and poet
Dr. Janice Kulyk Keefer, author, educator, researcher
Kerri Sakamoto, author and documentary producer
Richard Scrimger, author, educator, administrator

Sharon Butala, O.C., author and playwright
Professor Modris Eksteins, author and educator
Laura Langston, author and broadcast journalist
John Metcalf, editor, author and literary critic

Myrna Kostash, journalist and non-fiction author
Mieko Ouchi, actor, writer and director for theatre, film, TV
Bill Richardson, writer and CBC broadcaster
Antanas Sileika, journalist & author, artistic director at Humber School of Writers
    Key Dates
January 15, 2017
Deadline for submissions for awarding in March 2018

What's New

Call for Submissions

Kobzar $25,000 Literary Award is awarded biennially to Canadian authors whose narratives develop a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit. Shortlisted authors receive $1,500.

Submission deadline January 15, 2017 for award announced in March 2018.

Works may be submitted by authors, literary agents and publishers.

For submission terms,
click here.
© 2010 KOBZAR™ The Kobzar Literary Award. Shevchenko Foundation.
Home | About the Award | The Foundation | Submissions | Shortlisted Books & Publishers
Past Winner | Ordering Books | Judging Panels | Writers' Scholarships | Contact Us
Winnipeg Web Design by Web Wizards Inc.